Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: The same post on the sidebar as the post itself

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    11

    The same post on the sidebar as the post itself

    I got a problem.

    At first when you click on a post you can see on the right in the sidebar more different posts, but now you only see the same as the main post.

    I tried this in different php files:

    replace
    <?php if(have_posts()) : ?><?php while(have_posts()) : the_post(); ?>
    with
    <?php $posts=query_posts($query_string . '&orderby=rand'); if(have_posts()) : ?><?php while(have_posts()) : the_post(); ?>
    in index.php,


    My website: www.tessa-nicolai.nl


    Can anyone help me?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2
    Hi Nicolai

    I'm having more or less the same issue. Sidebar links are always the same, and not related to anything I can figure out (not most recent, previous/next, etc.).

    I'd just like to know what's controlling the sidebar links, as I can't seem to find it anywhere.

    My site is http://www.viacelli.com

    If anyone can give their thoughts on this it would be very helpful.

  3. #3
    mrleo
    Guest
    yeah me too. It looks like this might be simply the way it was built - fixed 2 projects in the right-hand column for every page. That's pretty wack and I've only just seen this problem(or design feature) so if anyone has a hack please share.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Utrecht, Netherlands
    Posts
    4
    Hello,

    Go to WP > theme editor > sidebar-featured.php and change the showposts=2&offset=1" into showposts=6 (or an other number..)
    If you change the offset=1 into any other number it shows an other post first.

    Here is how it looks like in the code, don't use kladblok or any other text editor.

    <?php
    wp_reset_query();
    query_posts("showposts=3&offset=1");
    if ( have_posts() ) : while ( have_posts() ) : the_post(); ?>

    Good luck all,

    (Wordpress is favoriet onder de Nederlanders zie ik (-: )

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2

    Randomize

    Is there a way to randomize the posts that are being shown in the sidebar?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    11
    OH I have not seen here for a long time haha. Thanks for the solution!
    But I also want it to be randomized!

    Can you help me?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    277
    Try adding orderby=rand to the query_posts

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    11
    I can't find it in sidebar-features.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1
    and what hapen if i want to eliminate the image? can i do that?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    277
    Quote Originally Posted by geracdo View Post
    and what hapen if i want to eliminate the image? can i do that?
    Which image do you want to eliminate.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •